Wednesday, May 11, 2016

V. 1 #18 Facts about the University of Cincinnati Track & Field and Cross Country Programs (Part 3 of 3; 1975-1999)

Jim Schnur makes it three-for-three, advancing to the NCAA's in the decathlon for the first time.

Wayne Mason, another of UC's four-time NCAA qualifiers competes in the championships for the first time in the 60-yard high hurdles, joining Jim Schnur (decathlon) at the meet.

Jim Schnur closes out a stellar UC career with another trip to the NCAA's, this time in both the 60 decathlon and the 400 meters.
Wayne Mason makes his second consecutive trip in the 60-yard high hurdles.

Greg Weber (shot put) joins Wayne Mason (60-yard high hurdles) in competing at the NCAA Championships.

After four years of trying, Wayne Mason finally earns All-American honors, scoring in the 110-meter high hurdles. He also qualified for the Olympic trials.
Bernie Weber received the Jimmy Nippert Award.
Bill Schnier begins his UC career as the head men’s cross country and track and field coach. He is at UC from 1980 to 2013, the second-longest tenured track and field coach at UC.  He was also the women’s head coach (1981-83) and (1996-2001).

Chris Gilbert received the Jimmy Nippert Award.

The first women’s track and field team was started in 1981 but discontinued in 1983 due to a recession. 
Kari Yli-Renko received the Jimmy Nippert Award.

Rodney Johnson makes an NCAA appearance in the high jump, while also being tabbed Outstanding Performer at the Metro Conference Outdoor Championships.

Rodney Johnson

Doug Wiesman (800 meters) comes on top at the Metro Conference Championship.
Chad Disbennett earned All-American honors for his performance in the 3000-meter Steeplechase.
Former Bearcat, Jim Schnur, competed in the Olympic Trials. Schnur later became the only UC track and field Hall of Famer to be inducted as both an athlete and a coach.
Jeff Johnson received the Jimmy Nippert Award.

Jeff Johnson

Metro Conference Champions: Outdoor-Chris Bean (long jump).
Scott Jones received the Jimmy Nippert Award.

Chris Bean makes an appearance in the NCAA Championships, competing in the long jump, where he finishes 13th.
Metro Conference Champions: Outdoor-4x400 meter relay team.

Lewis Johnson sets a still existing record of 1:47.00 in the 800 meters in the midst of an All-American season in the event. He competed in the 1988 Olympic Trials and has been a six-time Olympic television announcer.

Lewis Johnson helping time the Great Bearcat Run

Lewis Johnson the award-winning announcer

Metro Conference Champions: Outdoor-Richard Hurst (hammer).
Brian Hatch received the Jimmy Nippert Award.

Metro Conference Champions: Outdoor-Richard Hurst (hammer, discus).

Metro Conference Champions: Outdoor-Richard Hurst (hammer, discus), Jason Shaffer (decathlon).
Dwight Drefs received the Jimmy Nippert Award.

Metro Conference Champions: Outdoor-Chris Krastas (javelin).
Richard Hurst received the Jimmy Nippert Award.

The men's team scores the first conference team championships in program history, sweeping both the indoor and outdoor crowns of the Great Midwest Conference.
For leading the squad to victory, Bill Schnier earns indoor and outdoor coach of the year honors.
Scott Ference is named GMC Outstanding Athlete at the outdoor championships.
Drew Hardyk received the Jimmy Nippert Award.
Great Midwest Conference Champions-Indoor: 4x400 meter relay team, Chad Disbennett (5,000 meters), Chris Krastas (high jump), Jeremy Smith (pole vault). Outdoor-4x100 meter relay team, Scott Ference (hammer, discus, shot put), Chris Krastas (decathlon, javelin), Ron Quercioli (high jump), Chris Watkins (long jump).

Coach Bill Schnier

The Bearcat men's team makes it back-to-back sweeps of the Great Midwest Conference Championships, again winning both indoor and outdoor titles.
Scott Keane was named GMC Newcomer of the Year at the indoor championships after finishing second in the weight throw and shot put, while head coach Bill Schnier was honored as the coach of the year.
Chris Watkins is selected as the Athlete of the Meet at the GMC Outdoor Championships.
Great Midwest Conference Champions: Indoor-Mike Albrinck (pole vault), Chad Disbennett (3,000 meter steeplechase), Ron Quercioli (high jump), Eric Walker (800 meters). Outdoor-4x100 meter relay team, Chris Watkins (100 meters, 200 meters, long jump)

UC continues to dominate the Great Midwest Conference, winning both men's team titles for the third consecutive year. The Bearcats break a seven-year dry spell by sending a pair of athletes to the NCAA Championships.
Chad Disbennett goes in the 3,000-meter steeplechase, earning All-American honors, while Mike Albrinck qualifies in the pole vault.
Great Midwest Conference Champions-Indoor: Elmer Brewer (pole vault). Outdoor-Adam Manning (400 meter hurdles), Chad Disbennett (3,000 meter steeplechase)

UC wins a fourth straight Great Midwest Men's Indoor Championship, but has the outdoor title string snapped at three.
Bill Schnier is honored as the GMC's Indoor Coach of the Year.
Women's team competes for the first time since 1982. Great Midwest Conference Champions-Indoor: 4x400 meter relay team, Lance Beck (800 meters), Matt Botos (pole vault), Chris Watkins (long jump, 55 meters). Outdoor: Aaron Archer (decathlon, javelin), Matt Botos (pole vault), Chad Disbennett (3,000 meter steeplechase), Adam Manning (400 meter hurdles).
Julie Snyder received the Helen Norman Smith Award.  The Helen Norman Smith Award annually goes to UC’s top graduating female student-athlete.

UC captures the first ever Conference USA Men's Outdoor Championship.
The women's team returns to competition after a 13-year absence.
By qualifying for the NCAA Championships in the 3,000-meter steeplechase, Chad Disbennett writes his name in the UC history books as one of only five men ever to compete in multi NCAA meets for the Bearcats. He also received the Jimmy Nippert Award.
Conference USA Champions-Indoor: Distance medley relay team, Jason Unger (long jump). Outdoor: Chad Disbennett (5,000 meters), Ben Novak (pole vault), David Yimsumruay (decathlon). 
Scott Keane earned the Walter Byers Award in 1996 as the Nation’s top student athlete.

Conference USA Champions- Indoor: Tim Berwanger (weight throw), Jeremy Bucher (3,000 meters). Outdoor: Jeremy Bucher (5,000 meters), Adam Manning (400 meter hurdles), David Yimsumruay (decathlon).
Scott Keane received the Jimmy Nippert Award.

The men's team competes during indoor season for the final time.
Conference USA Champions-Indoor: Mike Seymour (5,000 meters). Outdoor: Jeremy Bucher (3,000 meter steeplechase).
Jeremy Bucher received the Jimmy Nippert Award.

Conference USA Champions-Indoor: Kelly Krupa (weight throw). Outdoor: Greg Schumacher (110 meter hurdles), Mike Yoder (decathlon).
UC wins its only Penn Relays championship. The 4 x 800 collegiate championship team is composed of Matt Daggy, Jason Riegelsberger, Shane Heikenfeld and Kasey Kist. David Payne became an All-American for his performance in the 110 high hurdles.
Mike Yoder was named C-USA scholar athlete of the year. Karen Nelson received the Helen Norman Smith Award. 
The oldest women’s outdoor track and field record is the Distance Medley Relay:  11:59.12 (1999). Svetlana Toulissova / Mary Danner / Michelle Bosse / Angie Kist.

Angie Kist

Mary Danner

UC Coaches Through the Years:
John A. Davis 1906-1914
Broadbeck 1915
Oliver Nikoloff 1918-1959
George McLaren 1923-26
Chic Mileham 1937-1940
Tay Baker 1959-1963
Dave Dunkelburger 1963-65
Gary Truce 1965-1966
Paul Armor 1966-1970
Chuck Hunsaker 1970-1972
Bill Klayer 1972-1975
Lansing Holman 1975-1980
Bill Schnier 1980-into 21st century

All-Americans at UC and school Records as of 2010

No comments:

Post a Comment